## MINUTES BOARD MEETING CALHOUN COUNTY BOARD OF EDUCATION AUGUST 27, 2019

The Calhoun County Board of Education met on August 27, 2019 at 4:32 p.m. in the Administrative Building of the Calhoun County Board of Education, 4400 McClellan Boulevard, Anniston, Alabama. Notice of this meeting was properly posted and provided to those who had requested direct notification.

Board members present were: Mr. Almaroad, Ms. Amerson, Mr. Burt, Ms. Hess, Ms. Hood, Mr. Webb, and Mr. Winn, establishing a quorum.

The meeting was called to order by President Burt. The Pledge of Allegiance followed an opening prayer by Mr. Dee Ingram.

President Burt and Superintendent Turner recognized the following:

Whitney Welch from Alexandria High School received a certificate for the following awards: National Federation of High School Coaches' Association State Volleyball Coach of the Year, Awarded July 19, 2019; Alabama High School Athletic Association Class 5A Volleyball Coach of the Year, July 2018; 2017-2018 AHSAA Volleyball Class 5A State Champions, Record 44-9.

Certificates were presented to the Bus Mechanics in recognition of their hard work and dedication in receiving an outstanding mechanical inspection review with NO DEFICIENCIES from the State of Alabama Department of Education. The following mechanics are: Joey George, Tyler Holtman, Kevin Hunt, Casey Murray, Josh Parris, B.J. Sewell, and Wes Wheeler. Mr. Roe, Director of Transportation recognized the new Route Specialist, Linda Ramsden.

Superintendent Turner and Johnathan Shatus, of America's First Federal Credit Union presented two \$100 Gift Cards to Dee Ingram for Employee of the Month. Mr. Turner recognized Mr. Ingram for his hard work and dedication to Calhoun County Schools.

CSFO John Godwin presented Monthly Budget Percent Analysis Comparison, Local Revenue Collections Analysis, *Helping Schools* tag sales and Financial Statements, and Bank Reconciliations for Board and public view. No action was required (see attached).

Upon the recommendation of Superintendent Turner, the following actions were taken. The vote was unanimous unless otherwise noted.

On a motion by Ms. Webb and seconded by Ms. Hess, the Board approved minutes of the August 8, 2019 Board Meeting. (see attached).

On a motion by Ms. Amerson and seconded by Mr. Winn, the Board declared surplus items to be discarded or stored for use or sale at a later date (see attached).

On a motion by Ms. Hood and seconded by Mr. Webb, the Board approved the Request for Extended Day Worker's Salary to be paid by local school funds. (see attached).

MINUTES AUGUST 27, 2019 PAGE TWO

On a motion by Mr. Winn and seconded by Ms. Hess, the Board approved a portion of the PEEHIP funds to be paid as a supplement to a CCBOE employee. (See attached letter and request by the AEA.)

Chairman Burt cited the need for an executive session where the good name and character of individuals would be discussed, a motion was made by Ms. Amerson and seconded by Ms. Hood to enter into executive session. The vote was unanimous. President Burt estimated the executive session would last 30 minutes.

The Board entered into executive session at 5:19 p.m. On a motion by Mr. Winn and seconded by Ms. Hess, the Board unanimously agreed to resume the meeting at 6:21 p.m. Upon the recommendation of Superintendent Turner, the following Personnel actions were taken. The vote was unanimous unless otherwise noted.

On a motion by Ms. Hood and seconded by Mr. Winn, the Board approved personnel items Section A as submitted (see attached).

Superintendent Turner withdrew Section B to be voted on at a later time.

On the recommendation of President Burt under Section C, it was presented to affirm the Superintendent's response to the Grievance Appeal. Upon the recommendation by Ms. Amerson and seconded by Mr. Winn, the vote was unanimous to uphold the Superintendent's Grievance Appeal.

There being no further business before the Board at this time, a motion to adjourn was made by Ms. Amerson and seconded by Ms. Hess. The meeting adjourned at 6:35 p.m.

Date Adopted	Tobi Burt, President